the 2021 Awards ceremony: 

Iris Prize 🏆

Supported by The Michael Bishop Foundation

Winners of the Iris Prize are:

2007 – Dee Rees (USA) director of short film Pariah
2008 – Till Kleinert (Germany) director of short film Cowboy
2009 – Eldar Rapaport (USA) director of short film Steam
2010 – Magnus Mork (Norway) director of short film The Samaritan
2011 – Daniel Ribeiro (Brazil) director of short film I Don’t Want To Go Back Alone
2012 – Grant Scicluna (Australia) director of short film The Wilding
2013 – Tim Marshall (Australia) director of short film Gorilla
2014 – Brendon McDonall (Australia) director of short film All God’s Creatures
2015 – Arkasha Stevenson (USA) director of short film Vessels
2016 – Toby Fell – Holden (UK) director of short film Balcony
2017   Mikael Bundsen (Sweden) director of short film Mother Knows Best
2018 – Lara Zeidan (Lebanon/UK) director of short film Three Centimetres
2019 – Sarah Smith (USA) director of short film Black Hat
2020 – Victoria Warmerdam (Netherlands) director of short film Short Calf Muscle (Korte Kuitspier)
2021 – SAM ARBOR and ADAM ALI (UK) director of short film BABA.

Best British Short🏆

Sponsored by Film4 & Pinewood Studios

Winners of Best British Short are:
2007 – Abbe Robinson director of short film Private Life
2008 – Connor Clements director of short film James
2009 – Aleem Khan director of short film Diana
2010 – Ana Moreno director of short film Mosa
2011 – Andrew Steggall director of short film The Red Bike
2012 – Fabio Youniss director of short film A Stable for Disabled Horses
2013 – Jay Bedwani director of short film My Mother
2014 – Charlie Francis director of short film Middle Man
2015 – Lloyd Eyre-Morgan director of short film Closets
2016 – Toby Fell-Holden director of short film Balcony
2017 – Dionne Edwards director of short film We Love Moses
2018 – Claire Lawrie director of short film BEYOND (There’s Always a Black Issue, Dear) 
2019 – Alfie Dale director of short film My Brother is a Mermaid
2020 – Michael J Ferns director of short film Better
2021 – SAM ARBOR and ADAM ALI (UK) director of short film BABA

Best Feature🏆

Sponsored by Bad Wolf

The previous winners of the Iris Prize Best Feature Award are:
2008 – Dream Boy (USA) directed by James Bolton
2009 – Redwoods (USA) directed by David Lewis
2010 – My Friend from Faro (Germany) by Nana Neul
2011 – August (USA) by Eldar Rapaport
2012 – Sex of Angels (Spain) by Xavier Vilaverde
2013 – Cupcakes (Israel) by Eytan Fox
2014 – Boy Meets Girl (USA) by Eric Schaeffer
2015 – Fourth Man Out (USA) by Andrew Nackman
2016  – Real Boy (USA) by Shaleece Haas
2017 – Prom King, 2010 (USA) by Christopher Schaap
2018 – 1985 (USA) by Yen Tan
2019 – And Then We Danced (Sweden/Georgia/France) by Levan Akin
2020 – Cocoon (Kokon) (Germany) by Leonie Krippendorff
2021 – Rebel Dykes by Harri Shanahan and Siân A. Williams

BEST performance in a male role🏆

Sponsored by Attitiude Magazine

2011 – Murray Bartlett (Troy) in August
2012 – Ohad Knoller (Yossi) in Yossi
2013 – Ryan Steele (Chip) in Five Dances
2014 – Michael Welch (Robby) in Boy Meets Girl
2015 – Davide Capone (Davide) in Darker than Midnight (Piu Buio Di Mezzanotte)
2016 – Tom Green (Anthony) in Downriver
2017 – Miles Szanto in Teenage Kicks
2018 – Félix Maritaud in Sauvage
2019 – Henry Golding in Monsoon
2020 – Leandro Faria Lelo in Dry Wind (Vento Seco)
2021 – Udo Kier in Swan Song

BEST performance in a female role🏆

Sponsored by Diva Magazine

2011 – Allison Lane (Candy) in Going Down in La-La Land
2012 – Kristina Valada-Viars (Molly) in Molly’s Girl
2013 – Sabine Wolf (Katja) in Two Mothers
2014 – Kate Trotter (Alise) in Tru Love
2015 – Sigrid ten Napel (Anna) in Summer (Zomer)
2016 – Kerry Fox (Paige Levy) in Downriver
2017 – Fawzia Mirza in Signature Move
2018 – Jamie Chung in 1985
2019 – Linda Caridi in Mom + Mom (Mamma + Mamma)
2020 – Lena Urzendowsy in Cocoon (Kokon)
2021 – Senan Kara in Not Knowing

Youth JURY Award🏆

Sponsored by Cardiff University

2013 – Straight With You (Netherlands) by Daan Bol.
2014 – Bombshell (USA) by Erin Sanger
2015 – Closets (UK) by Lloyd Eyre-Morgan
2016 – Sign (USA) by Andrew Keenan-Bolger
2017 – Lily (Ireland) by Graham Cantwell
2018 – Mrs McCutcheon (Australia) by John Sheedy
2019 – My Brother is a Mermaid by Alfie Dale
2020 – Wings by Jamie Weston
2021 – S.A.M by Lloyd Eyre-Morgan and Neil Ely

Community Award🏆

Sponsored by Mark Williams in memory of Rose Taylor

2021 –  Lonely Cowgirl by Lydia Garnett. 

Micro Short Award🏆

Sponsored by Mark Williams in memory of Rose Taylor

2021 – Amen by Erick Edwardson. 

Audience Award🏆

Sponsored by Co-op

2020 – Wings by Jamie Weston
2021 – Birthday Boy by LEO LEBEAU